Michelle Lujan Grisham, Governor

Kari Armijo, Cabinet Secretary

Nick Boukas, Director, BHSD


Glossary of Terms

Agency – the organization that is licensed as a BHA – 432 or OTP – 343.

BH – Behavioral Health.

BHA-432 – Behavioral Health Agency-432 as defined by the Medical Assistance Division (MAD) Behavioral Health Provider Type list. The number designation is a part of a provider type classification system that is utilized by MAD for Medicaid enrollment with Xerox.

BHSD – Behavioral Health Services Division. A division of the State of New Mexico Human Services Department (HSD) overseeing BH providers in the state primarily for adult prevention, treatment, and recovery programs and services.

BIL4NILs – Billing for non-independently licensed practitioners.

CAQH – Council for Affordable Quality Healthcare.

Clinical Supervisor – Independently licensed practitioner or clinician. The reference in this document is specific to clinicians who have acquired a valid license to practice and oversee those who are NILs in the field of Behavioral Health by a State of New Mexico official licensing board as outlined by New Mexico Statutes and Scope of Practice and other specific Rules and Laws of the respective board.

Community Health Workers (CHW) – Members of a community who are chosen by community members or organizations to provide basic health and medical care to their community. 

Community Support Workers – Workers coach on recovery and resiliency while working collaboratively with individuals and families on person-centered goals to address how their serious mental illness, serious emotional disturbance, chronic substance use, or co-occurring disorder diagnosis impacts five functional domains:  Independent living; learning; working; socializing and recreation. 

Education for a Community Health Worker in New Mexico – There is a training and certification at UNM to become one, but most CHW’s do not have a certificate as it is not required.

Education to become a Community Support Worker – There is training offered through the State or UNM for the basic CCSS 20-hour requirement within 90 days of hire. Other professional requirements are based on completed academic level, other certifications and specific experience. 

Education for a LADAC in New Mexico – LADACs, and LSAAs have Associates Degrees or higher in approved fields; varying hours of required experience; and additional specialized training in addictions. Specialized addiction training is offered at the Associates level by Eastern NM University-Roswell, Santa Fe Community College, Central New Mexico Community College and at branch campuses, and the Continuing Education Division of the University of New Mexico. A Bachelors Degree in  Chemical Dependency Counseling is offered at WNMU in Silver City, and in a concentration in the Bachelors of Psychology at UNM – Albuquerque.

Education for LMFT degree in New Mexico – NMSU is the only college that provides this program.

Education for LPCC in New Mexico – UNM, WNMU, NMHU, and ENMU all have masters programs.

Education for a Peer Support Specialist in New Mexico Certificate – To receive a certificate the person must have two years’ experience and complete a test.  Types: Certified Family Peer Specialist (CFPSW) We can define this as well; Certified Wraparound Facilitator (CWF); Certified Peer Support Worker (CPSW).

Education for Social Workers in New Mexico– ENMU has a bachelors program in social work. NMSU, WNMU and NMHU have bachelors and masters programs. There is one private, online college that offers a doctorate in social work.

Facility – Used interchangeably with Agency or Organization in reference to the physical location of that entity.

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (LADAC), and Licensed Substance Abuse Associates (LSAA) –  Providers use their specializations to provide treatment and recovery management services to individuals, families and groups who are experiencing problems of alcohol and other drug use. LADACs and LSAAs have the same scope of practice, but LADACs may work independently, while LSAAs must practice under supervision. 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT) – licensed masters or doctorally prepared professionals trained in psychotherapy and family systems, who can diagnose and provide mental health services for individuals, couples, or groups for the purpose of achieving more adequate, satisfying, and productive marriage and family adjustments. 

Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs) – licensed master’s-degreed professionals that conduct assessments and apply counseling interventions and psychotherapeutic techniques to identify and remediate cognitive, mental, and emotional issues, including personal growth, adjustment to disability, crisis intervention, and psychosocial and environmental problems. 

LOD – Letter of Direction. These are letters from the State to MCO’s or other entities giving instruction on allowances or restrictions in terms of practice and delivery of services within their provider networks or internal practices.

MCO – Managed Care Organization. In the case of BH providers and services, the MCO contracts with the HSD to reimburse for services rendered under Medicaid.

NIL – Non-independently licensed practitioner or clinician. The reference to NILs in this document and BIL4NILs are clinicians who have acquired a valid license to practice in the field of Behavioral Health by a State of New Mexico official licensing board as outlined by New Mexico Statutes and Scope of Practice.

NPI and NPPES – National Provider Identifier and National Plan and Provider Enumeration System.

P&P – Policies and Procedures. As referenced in this document can include the agency policies and procedures, the training curriculum relative to staff orientation, or employee handbook.

Peer Support Specialists – individuals who have progressed in their own recovery from alcohol or other drug abuse or mental disorder and are willing to self-identify as a peer and work to assist other individuals with chemical dependency or a mental disorder. 

Practitioner / Clinician – State of New Mexico boards licensed clinician able to render services under Medicaid or other state funds for specific services within Behavioral Health according to New Mexico state Statute and Licensing board regulations Scope of Practice.

Provider – This term is used interchangeably to refer to an organization/agency or the individual practitioner.

Rule or Regulation – New Mexico State or Federally applicable legal Statutes, Administrative Codes, including State Departmental Policies and Procedures for licensing or certification purposes.

SOW/SOP– Scope of Work or Scope of Practice.

Supplement – A Supplement is an add-on of information or a directive to a contract obligation between a state entity and for example the MCOs.